Friday, May 20, 2005

New signing !

Yeah ! - that's right.

The fairly new and small independent danish record label Sublime Exile Recordings has landed an exclusive deal and proudly introduce the fantastic australian band the fakes and it's debut release 'Storm in a teacup'. Fans of bands such as Mazzy Star, My Bloody Valentine, Ride, Sneaker Pimps, Sinéad O'Connor, Cocteau Twins, Cowboy Junkies, Cranes, Velvet Underground should really check this great new band out ! - The sound is pop; sensual, dark brooding, with a fragile and intense female vocal over stark guitars, intelligent electronica and beautiful string arrangements. The tracks are all recorded in Australia at Graham's and Adrianna's by Robbie Rowlands and the fakes and mastered at Crystal Mastering House - Melbourne by John Roberto. Produced and engineered by Robbie Rowlands (Morning After Girls, 1200 Techniques, The Fauves, 16mm...)

'the fakes are absolutely fantastic and we here at Sublime Exile love their music. Thank God for the fakes !'

Title: Storm in a tea cup
Artist: the fakes
Prefix: SER1004D
Release: 30 January 2006

1. Tear / 4:55
2. Storm / 0:33 (instrumental)
3. I Hate January / 1:51
4. Happy / 3:40
5. Breathe / 3:58
6. A minutes notice / 2:48 (instrumental - in memory of the Tsunami victims)

Total play time: 17:47

The Fakes are:
Juliarna Cleal-vocals
Jase McCormick-guitars
Peter Bouwman-bass
Caz Gannell-cello
David Cox-drums'n'beats

For more information, bio, pics and interviews, please contact:

Lasse de Flon